UK Driving License Categories

Drive on a standard UK driving license

Safe and legal driving goes far beyond the highway code. Ever wondered about the different categories on the back of your UK driving license? What do they mean? Why do we have them? Do they indicate any driving restrictions? For something so familiar that many of us carry around day-to-day, it’s surprising to realize that we don’t really know much about them. This is why we’ve compiled a list of all those confusing driving license categories and codes, so you can see what you can and can’t drive once you buy your driving license.

Standard UK driving license categories

  • Category AM

This classification means you can drive two- or three-wheeled motors with a maximum design speed between 15.5mph and 28mph.

  • Category B

To drive any car, Category B is the classification you’ll need; you can drive vehicles up to 3,500kg Maximum Authorised Mass, with up to eight passenger seats. If you’re over 21, Category B also means you can drive motor tricycles that have a power output higher than 15kW

  • Category F

If your licence has category F on it – all standard ones do – you can drive an agricultural tractor. 

  • Category K

This driving licence category means you can get behind the wheel of a pedestrian-controlled vehicle; in other words, any self-propelled device you walk behind to control.

Driving license categories you need to complete an additional test for

  • Category A

With a catgory A, you can drive motorbikes with a power output more than 35kW or a power to weight ratio more than 0.2kW/kg.

  • Category C1

This driving license category gives you trailer weighing between 3,500kg and 7,500kg

  • Category D1

With the D1 driving license category, you can drive a minibus with no more than 16 passenger seats

  • Category H

With Category H, you can drive tracked vehicles- and yes, this includes tanks.

UK Driving License Categories

drivers licence is required for driving motorised vehicles on any UK public road. To drive a car or other vehicle legally in the UK, a driver must be the minimum age of 17 years, have a valid driving licence of a category appropriate to the vehicle being driven.

Apply for a licence

One Thought to “UK Driving License Categories”

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To get started with moderating, editing, and deleting comments, please visit the Comments screen in the dashboard.
    Commenter avatars come from Gravatar.

Leave a Comment